The Care Certificate

The Care Certificate Standards: an introduction

The Care Certificate Standards have been introduced as a mandatory induction for all new starters in care and health settings, replacing the Common Induction Standards in 2015.

The aim of the Care Certificate Standards is to ensure all support workers build a firm foundation of knowledge and skills in their first 12 weeks, which can then be built upon throughout their career. Completing the Care Certificate can also be beneficial to existing support workers at any stage of their career.

After assessment and successful completion of all 15 Standards the learner will be awarded the Care Certificate.

The 15 Standards are:

  • Understand your role
  • Your personal development
  • Duty of care
  • Equality and diversity
  • Work in a person centred way
  • Communication
  • Privacy and dignity
  • Fluids and nutrition
  • Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disability
  • Safeguarding Adults
  • Safeguarding Children
  • Basic Life Support
  • Health and Safety
  • Handling information
  • Infection prevention and control

The Care Certificate also provides evidence towards the completion and achievement of subsequent Health and Social Care qualifications during the ongoing training and development of the support worker.

Overall goal of the Care Certificate:

To provide clear evidence to employers and people who receive care and support that support workers have been trained and developed to a specific set of standards and have been assessed for the skills, knowledge and behaviours to ensure the provision of compassionate, high quality care and support.

The Care Certificate also reflects how these behaviours are underpinned by the 6Cs:

  • Care
  • Compassion
  • Competence
  • Communication
  • Courage
  • Commitment

Homes Caring for Autism is committed to the training, development, knowledge, competence and professionalism of all its employees. We achieve this through our long term investment in staff training and development, which is now underpinned by the new Care Certificate and a programme of continuous personal development.